Contacts for Biology

 
If you have questiosn related to your academics or degree, your first point of contact should be your academic advisor. Your advisor's name is listed on your myUK student page. 
 

Advisors

In the College of Arts and Sciences, all students are advised by professional academic advisors or faculty advisors. Each student has an assigned advisor in myUK.

Freshmen and Sophomores- (29 earned hours or less and first semester freshmen with more than 29 hours) are required to have an appointment with their assigned advisor.  Each appointment is allotted 30-minutes. Appointments can be scheduled in myUK under the myInfo link. Detailed instructions on how to make an appointment through myUK are here. If you need to cancel an appointment, you may do so in the myUK appointment scheduling system or notify your advisor in advance, by phone or email.

Biology Juniors and Seniors - (60+ earned hours and not on probation)  All Biology Junior and Seniors have been assigned a Biology Faculty Advisor. This individual will be your Advisor until you graduate. Check your academic/advising records in your myUK account to find out who your new Advisor is.

To make an appointment to meet with your Biology Faculty Advisor, please contact them directly via emailThe A&S Advising Scheduler cannot be used to make appointments to meet with your Biology Faculty Advisor.

Contact your Faculty Advisor

Advisor Name Advisor Email
Dr. Robin Cooper rlcoop1@uky.edu
Dr. Dr. Melody Danley mlda227@uky.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Debski Elizabeth.Debski@uky.edu
Dr. Jakub Famulski jakub.famulski@uky.edu
Dr. Douglas Harrison dough@uky.edu
Dr. Seth Jones seth.jones@uky.edu
Dr. Karla Lightfield lightfield@uky.edu
Dr. Nicholas McLetchie mclet@uky.edu
Dr. Peter Mirabito pmmira00@uky.edu
Dr. Jennifer Osterhage jennifer.osterhage@uky.edu
Dr. Brian Rymond rymond@email.uky.edu
Dr. Ashley Seifert awseifert@uky.edu
Dr. Kay Shenoy kay.shenoy@uky.edu
Dr. Jeramiah Smith jeramiah.smith@uky.edu
 
In some cases, your request may be referred to the Biology Director of Undergraduate Studies, Dr. Kay Shenoykay.shenoy@uky.edu. Dr. Shenoy can help you with issues related to courses, degree, advising, and anything else academic.
 

Open DUS Office Hours

Spring 2022: Monday and Thursday 10:00 am -12:00 pm
 

On-Call Advisor

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 9:00am-11:30am & 1:00pm-3:00pm
Tuesday 10:00am-11:30am & 1:00pm-3:00pm.
To be connected with an on-call advisor please call 859-257-8712 or email asadvisingcenter@uky.edu
 
Arts & Sciences Advising Center
202 Patterson Office Tower
859.257.8712
 
**Please note advising holds will not be lifted by the on-call advisor during priority registration. 
 

Need to talk to someone else?

Department level issues

Dr. David Weisrock, Chair
 
Dr. Peter Mirabito, Associate Chair
 

Interested in graduate school?

Dr. Jessica Santollo, Director of Graduate Studies
 

Other information...

If you stop by the Biology Department office (THM 101), the stduent worker at the front desk can often provide you with the correct form, handle your request, or guide you to someone who can.
 
There are many other resources on campus available to you for guidance. Many of these services are listed on the "List of Referrals". Department faculty, staff and students all use this list as a starting point for questions.